Proposal: Nouns Children’s Book Development

Hey Nouners,

You may have seen me (Brandon James Scott / @brandonmighty) on twitter or around the discord. I’ve been making Nouns-inspired art like my Myth of Noun collection on Superrare and my Nouns at Work collection on Foundation.

The Myth of Noun & Nouns at Work collections

I am an artist with over fifteen years of experience in children’s entertainment via animation and publishing. I’m writing this proposal because I think the world needs a Nouns children’s book - and I’d like to make one.

Goals

Introduce the fun, positive energy of Nouns to a young audience (and their parents). Create a wonderful nounish illustrated experience in physical form. Open a path to the traditional publishing world for Nouns.

tentative title/cover mockup

I am a Noun

I am a Noun (tentative title) will be an illustrated book for young children where we meet, learn about, laugh with, laugh at, argue with, understand, admire and ultimately love the Nouns. It will read like a curious journey with occasional reader involvement instead of a traditional linear story. For those familiar with children’s books, think along the lines of Julie Morstad’s Today, Oliver Jeffer’s Here We Are, or Richard Scarry’s Best Word Book Ever - these books take a big idea and explore them visually and nonlinearly.

The book may start with asking a simple question to the reader: What is a noun? Our Nouns characters will have their opinions on this, which will lead to more questions, and more opinions - often at odds with each other and the narrator, with the reader stuck in the middle of it all. The book will be curious, funny, smart, absurd, and nounish… always. And it might end with another question for the reader: What kind of noun will you be?