NounsDAO investment in Verse

FYI: This is an update based on the previous Nouns x Verse proposal from May - focused on a slightly different investment structure & project focus

TLDR

This proposal is for a NounsDAO investment in Verse, a new protocol for autonomous NFTs on Ethereum.

Who is behind this proposal?

hey everyone! My name’s Kiran. I’m the founder of Verse, an autonomous NFT protocol on Ethereum. Previously, I worked on product design for PartyDAO, and in my web2 life I was a product engineer in the biotech space.

What is Verse?

Verse is a protocol for autonomous NFTs on Ethereum. What does that mean? Verse enables the creation of NFTs with an embedded market that operates autonomously without the need for a central marketplace. Here’s a quick overview of how the protocol mechanism works:

Through the protocol, a creator deploys a contract Pair consisting of an ERC-20 Exchange contract and an ERC-721 Hyperobject contract. The dynamic price and supply of the ERC-20 token is managed by a bonding curve acting as an AMM. Simply, this means that anyone can buy and sell the token at any time with instant liquidity, and the contract will programmatically adjust the price based on the circulating supply. Holders of at least 1 atomic unit of the ERC-20 token can then redeem their token. Redeeming a token transfers the holder’s ERC-20 to the paired Hyperobject contract, which mints a new NFT and transfers it to the redeemer in exchange.

What is the status of Verse?

The contract for Verse V1 are live on mainnet, and the public beta interface to interact with the protocol is live at verse.xyz. Verse V2 is currently in development, with significant UX improvements and nounish mechanisms layered into the core protocol.

What can be built on Verse?